Texas Real Estate State Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Texas Real Estate Commission.
The information provided below can be found on the Commission's website. However, we recommend you contact the Real Estate Commission for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.
To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License, an individual:
- Must be 18 years of age
- Must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
- Must be a legal resident of Texas
- Must furnish the Commission satisfactory evidence of successfully completing the following education:
- Principles of Real Estate core real estate course (60 classroom hours)
- Law of Agency core real estate course (30 classroom hours)
- Law of Contracts core real estate course (30 classroom hours)
- An additional core real estate course (30 classroom hours)
- Another four semester (60 classroom) hours in core courses or in related courses acceptable to the Commission.
- Evidence of successful completion shall be presented via credit transcript or certificate prior to filing a Salesperson License Application form. DO NOT submit original transcripts and/or course completion certificates. Keep the originals for your personal files and send photocopies to the Commission.
- To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License you must first obtain a letter from the Commission attesting to satisfaction of all education requirements.THE EVALUATION OF EDUCATION DOCUMENTS MUST BE PERFORMED BEFORE THE APPLICATION CAN BE FILED.
- To obtain an evaluation of your education documents submit the form, Request for Evaluation of Education Documents.
- A fee of $20.00 is required for the evaluation of education documents for the purpose of determining if education requirements have been satisfied. This fee is good for one year. Please submit copies of your transcripts or course certificates with your request for evaluation. DO NOT submit original documents.
For more information about becoming a real estate Salesperson in the state of Texas, please click on the following link: http://www.trec.state.tx.us/
Salesperson Annual Education (SAE)
A salesperson is required to have completed a total of 18 semester (270 classroom) hours of education, at least 14 semester (210 classroom) hours of which must be in core real estate courses, by the end of their first year of licensure.
Accumulated hours required for real estate salespersons applying on or after January 1, 2006
|When||Core Classroom Hours||Max. related or other classroom hours||Total classroom hours|
150 hours as follows
|60 hours||210 total hours|
Once licensed, the salesperson must then complete an additional 60 core real estate classroom hours during the first year of licensure, for the totals seen below:
|At 1st renewal (end of 1st year)||210 hours||60 hours||270 total hours|
NOTE: Should the hours be completed PRIOR to the first renewal, the licensee will have satisfied the SAE requirements, and will then be under Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) requirements.
For those who applied Prior to January 1, 2006
A salesperson is required to complete a total of 18 semester hours (270 classroom hours) of education by the end of their third year of licensure. At least 14 semester hours (210 classroom hours) of the 270 classroom hours must be in core courses. This education is referred to as Salesperson Annual Education (SAE).
- At the end of the first year, a licensee must have a minimum of 150 core classroom hours and 60 related, MCE or core classroom hours, totaling 210 classroom hours
- At the end of the second year, a licensee must have 180 core classroom hours and 60 related, MCE or core classroom hours, totaling 240 classroom hours
- At the end of the third year, a licensee must have a minimum of 210 core classroom hours and 60 related, MCE or core classroom hours, totaling 270 classroom hours
Complete 15 hours of state approved courses every 2 years, these courses must include 6 hours of Mandatory legal courses including:
- Legal Updates 3hrs
- Ethics 3hrs
- The other 9 hours are elective courses
- Pass a course final exam for mandatory legal courses (grade of 70 required to pass).
- All sales agents renew every 2 years in the month their license was received.