Tennessee Real Estate State Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.
The information provided below can be found on the Commission's website. However, we recommend you contact the Real Estate Commission for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.
Affiliate Broker Requirements
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Successfully complete an approved 60 hour real estate education course in real estate principles/fundamentals.
- Pass a course final exam with a score of at least 70%.
- Successfully pass the Affiliate Broker state examination . (The TN REC does not allow anyone on parole or probation to be scheduled for the state examination unless two years have passed from the date of expiration or probation, conviction or release from incarceration, whichever is later.)
- Successfully complete an approved 30 hour "Course for New Affiliates" prior to their license being issued and a letter or certification of completion of this course must be submitted with the license application.
- Must have held an active license that meets one of these criteria: 24 months actively licensed if licensed as an affiliate broker on or before 5/12/88, 36 months actively licensed if licensed as an affiliate broker after 5/12/88, or 24 months active licensed if you have a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate.
- Successfully complete 120 hours of approved real estate education of which 30 hours must be an "Office/Broker Management" course.
- Submit a Broker Examination Application to the TREC
- Once the exam application has been approved, successfully pass the Broker state Examination
Post Licensing Education:
Brokers licensed after 1/1/2001 must complete 120 additional hours of approved education before their third anniversary of their broker license. Failure to do so will result in non-issuance of a license renewal. Brokers licensed after 1/1/2005 must complete continuing education requirements after completing the 120 hour post license requirement.
Complete 16 hours of state approved courses every 2 years.
These courses must include 4 hours in the mandatory "Core" course, which covers the following topics for the current renewal period:
- Real Estate Law/Rule/Policy Update (2 hours),
- Agency and Representation (1 hour), and
- Contract Issues (1 hour).
The other 12 hours are elective courses.